Drama (2015.08): Yongpal / Thoughts

Yongpal: Episode 7, thoughts and Jo Hyun Jae scenes

Han Do Jun Ep 7-14
Han Do Jun (Jo Hyun Jae) continues to be a mystery in this episode. In addition, I begin to wonder about Do Jun’s real feelings for his wife, Chae Young.
Link to Episode 6
Episode 7
Note: Click on the video of Jo Hyun Jae scenes to watch it on Facebook.
Scene 1: Standoff between Han Do Jun (HDJ) and Pres. Go (Go) at the basement of Hanshin Hospital.
HDJ: What are you taking off in such a hurry? President Go, why did you make a trip out here at your age?
Go: The labor worker likes the field.
HDJ: So what brings you to the hospital?
Go: To take back something that I left here for a while.
HDJ: Ah, you did? But what could it be? (Do Jun signals his men.) I am sorry. I hear there are a lot of thieves taking other people’s stuff from the hospital these days.
TH tries to move the stretcher toward Do Jun, Cynthia asks him what he is doing.
HDJ: What do you think? My employee is bringing my stuff back. Good job, Kim Tae Hyun. (Cynthia points a gun at TH.) Thieves act more confident these days.
Go: I hear there are people who steal other people’s stuff and pretend it is theirs. (Do Jun’s cellphone rings.)
HDJ (to caller): Yes, it’s me. Really? Goodness, what should I do? My pitiful sister. (To Pres. Go) I am sorry. I had to answer that call. By the way, my sister was just in the OR and she ended up dying.
TH removes sheet on the body in the stretcher and reveals the decoy. President Go applauds Han Do Jun for his feat (that of killing off Yeo Jin/YJ).
Go: Good job. You pulled off a huge feat. I thought there was no way, but you pulled it off. Now, I think it is time to negotiate.
Do Jun looks doubtful. TH collapses. Do Jun’s minion checks on TH. He reports to Do Jun that TH injury is severe. Do Jun tells minion to move TH, but TH leaves the basement on his own.
Scene 2: Do Jun takes Pres. Go inside YJ’s former room so they could talk in private.
Go: I am coming into this room after Ms. Young Ae has passed away.
HDJ: Do we still have something to negotiate? I think the game is already over.
Go: Do you really think so? It’s only over if you know what cards your opponent is holding. And you voluntarily gave up Ms. Young Ae, the trump card. I believe a fair negotiation is possible now. A win-win situation for both of us.
HDJ: So, to put it simply, we’ll let everyone believe that YJ is alive. And share the stocks? Why should I do that?
Go: By any chance, have you heard of “Pabuchimju”? It means destroy the pots used to make food and sink the boat they would use to return home.
HDJ: No kidding. What are you going to do now, Pres. Go? You are going to starve soon and your boat has sunk.
Go: That’s okay. Excuse me for saying this, but what I destroyed were your pots and your boat. You were only concerned with dropping Ms. Young Ae’s stock in order to lower the inheritance tax. The truth is, I contributed quite heavily in that area. In other words, we helped destroy the company together.
HDJ: What? We destroyed it together?
Go: It is not public knowledge yet. But if an obituary goes out tomorrow morning about Ms. Young Ae we will reveal the sales and current liability ratio from our end.
HDJ: If that happens….
Go: You will be very surprised. Circuit breaker. Side car. I can guarantee it. (Do Jun is not pleased.) Come tomorrow morning, all of Hanshin Group’s stocks will crash. Do you get it now? Whose pots and boat I destroyed? Now, are you willing to get on the same boat with me? And share your pots as well? If you want an exact profit and loss simulation, then go and ask your friends who graduated from Harvard and Stanford.
HDJ: From the very beginning, your goal was to get rid of YJ. You planned this all along.
Go: Of course, if Ms. Young Ae had been in our hands the scenario would have been different. In any case, thank you very much for not getting blood on our hands. If we join forces, we can get rid of all those pesky subsidiaries that are striking and take care of Ms. Young Ae’s funeral as soon as possible. Chairman? (Do Jun gets himself under control.)
HDJ: If I had known there was a good idea like this I would have joined forces with you earlier.
Go: Thank you.
Scene 3: Chief Lee takes the sheet-covered decoy back to YJ’s room on the 12th floor.
Lee is surprised to see Pres. Go inside. Do Jun tells him that it is okay because Pres. Go has joined their side now. Do Jun removes the sheet and looks at the decoy. Do Jun imagines that the arm moved and captured his, and then YJ calls him “devil”. Do Jun shows fear, Lee asks him if he is okay.
HDJ: This dummy looks like a real person. (Go concurs.) Take good care of my sister.
Scene 4: Do Jun visits TH at the ICU
HDJ: How is he doing?
Lee: He hasn’t regained consciousness yet. But he should get better soon thanks to your concern.
HDJ: All right then. I appreciate it. I owe him a lot.
YJ, with her face bandaged and lying on the bed on the other side of TH’s, wonders to herself what Do Jun meant when he said that he owes TH a lot. (So, she didn’t know what TH did to save her? TH acted on his own?).
Lee said that they will take good care of TH. Another doctor tries to impress Do Jun by saying that he was the one who operated on TH.
HDJ: Ah, is that right? Then you will be responsible if he dies, huh? (That stops resident doctor. LOL) Come on, I was kidding. (Do Jun notices the patient on the bed next to TH.) Hanshin Group? What is wrong with her? (Secretary whispers the answer to him.) Can’t you move her over there? People walk by and see her. (Secretary instructs nurse to move YJ to another unit.)
Scene 5: Do Jun leaves the ICU and goes to Chae Young’s (CY) room on the 12th floor. Lee tried to follow Do Jun inside the room but Secretary stops him.
CY: Oh my, what brings you here? Oh my, are you not feeling well? Is that why you came to the hospital? Seriously, what brings you here? Are you sick?
HDJ: No. I wanted to see you.
CY: Come one, really?
HDJ: Of course, I am serious.
CY: Honey, I heard there was a problem here yesterday. People were fighting and all.
HDJ: Oh my, were they?
CY: Gosh, you don’t believe me, do you? I heard it was very scary.
HDJ: You’re very pretty, honey.
CY: Am I? I guess my face lift went well this time, huh?
HDJ: And I love you.
CY: Me too.
HDJ (controlled anger): No, you don’t love me. The fact that you don’t love me we both know that very well.
CY: Honey, what’s going on? You are scaring me.
HDJ (controlled anger): I have finally become the real owner of Hanshin. What do you think? Will you now love me?
CY: Honey, I don’t know what you’re talking about now. Why are you doing this to me? I am scared.
HDJ: You are not scared, but amused, huh? Fine, you grow old that way then. Pretend you don’t know anything for the rest of your life. But you will never be able to leave me.
Do Jun leaves. CY says, “I pity you, honey. I wonder what it’s like to love someone who has never loved you back.
In the elevator Secretary asks Do Jun if he was able to talk to CY.
HDJ: What could such a woman possibly know? It’s all orchestrated by Pres. Go. I wonder how she was able to go to a good college.

.

Other things worth noting in Episode 7:
– TH revives YJ. The woman from Hanshin Electric who tried to commit suicide, name of Kim Young Mi, dies on operating table because TH collapses before he could operate on her. YJ takes on the identity of Kim Young Mi.
– In the hospital morgue, the head of hospital security takes out the body of the real Kim Young Mi and asks Head Nurse to identify the body as Ms. Young Ae, Head Nurse concurs. Security chief says that he made sure that the anesthesiologist and the resident doctor understands that Ms. Young Ae did not die. Head Nurse is told that she must keep quiet about what she saw and heard that day. Otherwise, she will be a corpse too. The tag on the real Kim Young Mi’s freezer space says “Unidentified Corpse”
– CY finds out that someone entered her room in the hospital during the commotion. She recalls TH instruction for her to stay away from the hospital. CY finds out from nurse that TH showed concern for her. She goes to check on him and forced hospital people to make sure TH would live. YJ heard everything from her separate room.
– Cynthia knows that Yeo Jin is still alive.

.

THOUGHTS
Cynthia and Pres. Go
Cynthia knows that Yeo Jin is alive. I wonder if Pres. Go is aware of this too and just pretending in front of Do Jun that he believes that Yeo Jin is dead already. Or maybe Cynthia kept the information to herself?
Han Do Jun
So far, Han Do Jun is coming off as a not so very smart man. It seems to me Pres. Go has got Do Jun’s number – that when provoked, Do Jun acts rashly, ignoring the advice of the advisers he hired to work for him.
I do not know if Do Jun is as foolish as he is being presented to us. Is he really so dense not to realize that Pres. Go was just provoking him into acting rashly? Or is Do Jun just pretending to be easily manipulated to fool Pres. Go?
Does Han Do Jun really love Lee Chae Young?
Two possible answers:
1. Do Jun doesn’t love Chae Young. He just pretends to love her so her father would side with him (or so he believes.)
2. Do Jun really loves Chae Young but he denigrates her in front of other people to save his pride. I am sure he knows that Chae Young doesn’t love him and that she cheats on him with other men, these surely grate on his male ego. During the party flashback, when Yeo Jin asked Do Jun if he is really marrying Chae Young, Do Jun acted as if he is marrying Chae Young only because it was what Daddy Han wanted. I think even then Do Jun was already protecting his ego by pretending that he doesn’t care, one way or the other, whom he marries.
I am more inclined to believe that Do Jun doesn’t love Chae Young if we base it on our normal concept of love. I say this because I can’t believe that a person like Do Jun, who ordered his own sister’s murder, is capable of loving another human being. No matter what happened in the past, no matter what injustices he felt might have been done to him, deliberately harming other people and ordering their death are the actions of a man who seems to have no love in his heart and soul.
At this point in the story I can’t see any redeeming side to Do Jun. It seems to me that with each episode, his wickedness is increasing more and more, and I am afraid that the Writer is leading him to the point of no return. With each evil act that he does, with each death that he causes, he is giving up a piece of his soul. And if he continues to be this evil person, he will reach the point where he will have no soul at all and will somehow cause his own destruction.
As a fan of Jo Hyun Jae, I don’t want any of his onscreen characters to die an ignominious or miserable death, all alone, with no one crying for him, so I hope the Writer will find a way to redeem Han Do Jun somehow. Is that too much to hope for?
That scene in Yeo Jin’s room where Do Jun thought the decoy became the real Yeo Jin shows us that at least Do Jun is fully aware of what he did to his sister – he had her murdered. Is that already the beginnings of a guilty conscience?

One thought on “Yongpal: Episode 7, thoughts and Jo Hyun Jae scenes

  1. Pingback: Yongpal: Episode 8, thoughts and Jo Hyun Jae scenes | Simply JO HYUN JAE

Leave a comment