Drama (2015.08): Yongpal / JHJ Interviews / JHJ News / News Articles

Jo Hyun Jae Post-Yongpal Interview (26) – “I found my acting breakthrough with my first villain role 15 years after my debut.”

JHJ Post YP Int-68This article has basically the same contents as the previous ones, but the reporter seems to focus on the emotional aspect of the interview. Well, to me, in this write-up, Jo Hyun Jae comes across as a bit emotional, but at the same time looking forward to the future.
.
Article title: Jo Hyun Jae said, “I found my acting breakthrough with my first villain role 15 years after my debut.”
2015.10.07. 07:08
> He showed excellent performance as Han Do Jun in the drama “Yongpal”.
> At the beginning of his career, he usually played a character with an upright image.
> In his late 20s and after being discharged from the military there were gaps in his acting career.
> He said that he regained his confidence in his acting after meeting such a character as Han Do Jun in “Yongpal”.
There is no arguing about it. He has sealed the deal. His comeback drama after almost a 2-year absence is the best drama with the highest viewer rating out of the weeknight dramas this year. He made his first attempt to play a villain 15 years after he began his acting career and he has been receiving plenty of compliments for his performance. Because of this, his face is shining so bright. This is the story of actor Jo Hyun Jae (35).
Jo Hyun Jae was in the SBS drama “Yongpal” that recently ended. In the drama he acted as Han Do Jun who was willing to do anything, even kill his younger sister that was played by Kim Tae Hee, he also committed all kinds of atrocities. In the drama he fostered the tension and this made the characters surrounding him stand out even more. He wanted his voice and eyes to be sharp so he researched many different ways to do this. He did this to make his image more villainous. In addition, he lost 10 kg in body weight just so he could make his character come alive.
Jo Hyun Jae challenged himself to do a villain role 15 years after his debut. He said, “I was able to make a breakthrough for my acting career with this particular project,” showing his feelings of satisfaction.
“All the characters I’ve played thus far have been either a prince, a director of a company, an heir of a conglomerate… all characters are pretty much upright characters. My good boy image has been solid throughout the years so offers for different types of roles didn’t come by. Now, I am very pleased because I was given the opportunity to play the part of an intense character that I have always dreamed of and it came at the right time.”
The right time he is talking about is the mid-30s which is the stage in life he is in now. He said that starting from his late 20s “I embraced all the worries of the world and I had to go through a time where I would consider things thoroughly without finding any answers. But now I have experienced all those things.”
Since the beginning of his career he was in all kinds of dramas and movies. He pretty much always was the star and he was actively working freely. He was in “Great Ambition”, “Love Letter”, “Rays of Sunshine”, “The Nine Tailed Fox”, and “Ballad of Seodong”. In these dramas he interacted with actresses like Soo Ae, Song Hye Gyo, Son Ye Jin, Lee Yo Won and Kim Tae Hee.
He had a longer gap since he enlisted in the military and moved to a different management agency. Because of these things he wasn’t able to easily choose the kind of work he wanted to do. He thought he was going be on a roll. However, even till this day some people still remember him from either “Ballad of Seodong” or “Love Letter”.
“I had no time to take it easy when I was in my 20s. I just looked forward and kept on working without even looking back. I think I pretty much wasted my time ever since I came back from the military because the gaps between my works got longer and longer. Even when I was taking a break I would ask myself, “How do I act?”, “What kind of role should I play now?” With these kinds of thoughts I felt like my head was going to explode. In retrospect, even though the flow is broken, I decided to think positively because with those experiences a good opportunity came for me to play a character that is completely the opposite from my previous characters. Lately, I’ve been thinking that there is no such thing as forever. I think that I should just work harder no matter what I do. And when I am working, be more serious about it.”
“I feel like I was able to make a breakthrough for my acting life with this drama “Yongpal” and this all happened in my mid-30s.” He kept on showing how happy he is with his bright smile. “I am not afraid to start anew now and I feel a strong confidence deep inside me.”
“I became more at peace once I let myself go and emptied my heart. I have to make myself do things to unfold all the great things that will happen to me in my 30s and 40s and even beyond that. Things are not the same as in my 20s, back then I played mostly lead roles. But now I want to be able to choose the projects I want to be in wisely and in all sincerity so I would be able to work without any gaps. More than anything, I think I’m at the age where people ask me about my marriage. Ha! Ha! I have been realizing that the time has gone by so quickly. Marriage? I think I would have to consider it now. However, I want to at least get married before I turn 40.”
.
Source 1  Source 2

.

Credit: Photo as labelled. English translation by Jenny Park. Thanks! Editing by Prissymom.
Leave a Reply

