Drama (2015.08): Yongpal / JHJ Interviews / JHJ News / News Articles

Jo Hyun Jae Post-Yongpal Interview (3) – “I did not know I would feel good being called ‘scary'”

JHJ Post YP Int-2Article title: Jo Hyun Jae, “I didn’t know I would feel good being called ‘scary’ “
[TV Report = Sinnara, reporter] 2015. 10.05. 13:51
Jo Hyun Jae revealed his thoughts about his villain acting.
On the 5th of October, we interviewed Jo Hyun Jae at a cafe in Nonhyun, Gangnam, Seoul.
Jo Hyun Jae said, “I love it when I hear people tell me, “you are evil” or “you are scary”. At first, when I heard those words, I didn’t realize I was being praised. Now, I love hearing those words.” These statements aroused great laughter.
Jo Hyun Jae added, “This is my first time to portray such a role, and the reaction from the viewers signifies that I did a very good job, that is why I feel very proud. This is a good drama to have in my filmography, if people will remember this role as a great character, then I will be truly grateful.”
Jo Hyun Jae recently appeared in the just-concluded SBS drama “Yongpal” where he played the evil Han Do Jun who forced his half-sister into a vegetative state in order to grab the chairmanship of the Hanshin Group from her. Playing the wicked Han Do Jun is the first time in his acting career that Jo Hyun Jae has challenged villain acting.
Source 1

.

The article below have basically the same content as the one above, but with some additional comments from Hyunjae. It is written by the same reporter as the above article.

.

Article title: The first time to challenge the villain role… the public likes it, so I feel proud.
Jo Hyun Jae said, ” “Yongpal” is a drama that is special to me. The result is really good.”
Jo Hyun Jae added, “This is my first time to portray such a role, and the reaction from the viewers signifies that I did a very good job, that is why I feel very proud. This is a good drama to have in my filmography, if people will remember this role as a great character, then I will be truly grateful. I think I am fortunate to have been part of this drama. I was also thrilled to face a new acting challenge.”
Source 2

.

Below are Jenny Park’s English translation of the same articles:
Article #1
Article title: Jo Hyun Jae stated. “I never knew that it would feel this good for people to say that I’m ‘scary’.
Jo Hyun Jae expressed his feelings about him acting in a villain role.
On the 5th at a cafe in the Gangnam district on Nonhyeon Street an interview was held with the actor Jo Hyun Jae.
Jo Hyun Jae said, “When they said the words like: ‘he looks evil’, and ‘so scary’ made me feel great. I didn’t know this in the past but it felt good because they were pointing out the good parts about my acting.” He also said, “Whenever I heard them say that I was ‘so cruel’ it made me feel so good.” This created a laughter in the atmosphere.
Moreover he said, “First of all, this was my very first attempt trying out a character such as this and the public’s positive reaction made me feel very pleased. I feel very grateful because a great drama and an awesome character like this will remain in my filmography.”
Meanwhile in the recently finished SBS Wednesday-Thursday drama called “Yongpal”, Jo Hyun Jae was a character who was afflicted by an illegitimate child syndrome. There he had a desire to get a hold of the chairman position and for this he forced his younger sister to be in a state of coma. Han Do Jun was a character that was able to commit such an evil deed and this was Jo Hyun Jae’s first attempt to play a villain role since his debut.
.
Article #2
Jo Hyun Jae expressed his feelings towards the end of the drama of “Yongpal”, along with his thoughts on his attempt for his first villain role.
On the 5th at a cafe in the Gangnam District on Nonhyeon Street in Seoul there was an interview held with the actor Jo Hyun Jae.
Jo Hyun Jae stated, “I think Yongpal had become a very special drama to me personally. Also, the outcome seemed to be pretty positive.” These are the first things he said when he started to talk.
He said, “First of all, this was the first time for me to try out a character like this and I was very pleased because the public showed a positive reaction towards it. I am very thankful since this will remain in my filmography as a drama that’s good, along with a solid character. And on top of that, I feel fortunate to be in a great work such as this. As I was acting this part, I felt very excited because I was able to challange myself for doing something new.” These are his feelings towards the drama.
Meanwhile, in the SBS Wednesday-Thursday drama that recently finished called “Yongpal”, Jo Hyun Jae was a character that’s troubled by a complex which was the illegitimate son syndrome. Han Do Jun was a character that could do an evil deed such as: forcefully making his younger sister be in a coma state, so he can get a hold of the group’s chairman position. Ever since his debut, this was his first attempt to act as a villain.
 .
Credit: Photo as labelled. English translation by Prissymom and Jenny Park. English translation is not verbatim.
Leave a Reply

