Drama (2015.08): Yongpal

Han Do Jun and Lee Chae Young’s nightmare

The above video clip shows Han Do Jun‘s death scene in Episode 16 of “Yongpal”.
This scene is brilliantly executed, with both Jo Hyun Jae and Chae Jung An having no dialogues and just relying on their acting to carry the scene through. Knowing that it was the look of love in Hyunjae’s eyes that helped Jungan-ssi to execute her own scenes has lessened the sadness I feel at Do Jun’s death. I still cry whenever I watch this scene, but at the same time my heart is filled with pride and happiness at the knowledge that our Hyunjae’s acting (his eye acting in particular) inspired a fellow artist to do her job.
For those who are asking about the background music used for Do Jun’s death scene, here are some information. The song’s title is “Nightmare” and the singers are Yong Jun Hyung of 용준형 [BEAST]  and Heo Ga-yoon of 허가윤 [4Minute 포미닛] from Yongpal OST Part.2
English translation of the lyrics below:
NIGHTMARE
It’s so dark here
Shine some light on me
I’m killing my breath in this dark silence
Things that I could only see faintly don’t even have an after image anymore
They turn against me
But it’s alright, things’ll get better
I tell myself but the only thing that returns is silence and my weakness
Time is running out and it keeps pushing me
But the only thing I can do right now is wait for you
I don’t even expect happiness
I just want you to be here
That alone can make the clouds above my head go away
Even if I get hurt and fall down so much that I can’t get up again
You’re the reason that I get better
That alone was enough for me
I thought I became a pretty decent person when I was with you
Even my dirtiness became clean when I was with you
But you’re not here anymore and now I question the purpose of my life
Because without you, I have nothing
It feels like we’re stopped in eternity
Your hands can’t reach my spreading tears
Please rain on my coldly frozen heart so I can breathe
Please wake me from this nightmare
Whether my scars all healed or disappeared from the start
Whether my blackened memories met the light or was erased from the dazzling light
Your warm arms that embraced me was heaven
Now I can’t find you anywhere, it’s hell
You’re too big of a presence to bury it all under
So even if everything gets taken away from me, I want to turn things back
Even if the world’s sharpest thorns arise on my way to you
I’ll imagine us smiling at the end as I run through with bare feet
It feels like we’re stopped in eternity
Your hands can’t reach my spreading tears
Please rain on my coldly frozen heart so I can breathe
Please wake me from this nightmare
The scars nailed into my heart can’t be erased
I can’t forget you, who crossed over the darkness and came to me
In our last memory, we were like different people
Your hands can’t reach my spreading tears
Please rain on my coldly frozen heart so I can breathe
Please wake me from this nightmare
Source
.
2 thoughts on “Han Do Jun and Lee Chae Young’s nightmare

  1. Many hoped that he will survive and redeem himself but eventually he died.This scene was so sad that even I find it hard to watch again.How shocked and sad you guys(JHJ fans) must be? I understand. None of us suspected that he will die in ep 16. Much less after we saw the stills. It looked like he was waving CY and ready to join her. Well,the writer is harsh and it looks like every character is on waiting list to die/disappear.

    JHJ did well in his role and I applaud him for giving DJ life. Since YP is successful,JHJ presence is noticed by viewers. I heard that he is under HB entertainment too.That’s a big company. With all these positive changes,hopefully he will get more projects and meet you guys soon. Be happy JHJ fans. Just pester him to post more at instagram. Hopefully,he gives in.

    • Thank you for your kind words about Hyunjae. Even I, who has followed JHJ’s acting since 2003, was amazed at the maturity and strength of JHJ’s acting in this drama. Here’s hoping HB will take good care of JHJ’s career after YP.

      Good luck to us pestering JHJ into posting more on IG 😀

Leave a Reply

