Drama (2015.08): Yongpal / JHJ in Magazines / JHJ Interviews

Jo Hyun Jae in September 2015 issue of Lady 경향 magazine (Interview, Part 1)

2015 Lady-21

Here is my English translation of Jo Hyun Jae‘s interview which appeared in the September 2015 issue of Lady 경향 (Lady Kyunghyang) magazine.
Our Hyunjae answered 25 questions in this interview. Some of his answers are long, quite difficult to translate, hence my translation is a bit slow. So I have divided the interview into several parts; this is Part 1. To come up with this English translation I cross-checked the Korean version with the Chinese translation by ドラミ1987 posted on JHJ/Baidu.
.
Title: Gets rid of the image of the pure-hearted young man, challenges his first villain role….
The new time of Jo Hyun Jae
Scion, handsome, first love… these are the words that define Jo Hyun Jae. With chilly eyes he looks at the camera lens, this is our first meeting with Jo Hyun Jae.
Passing through the long corridor, Jo Hyun Jae (35) opens the door and enters. We follow him like a shadow. His eyes are lit with kindness, his aura calm and sedate, but we can detect a refreshing energy in him. I do not know if he realizes it or not, but his solemn voice as he greets us is somewhat strange.
Editor: I wonder why the reporter says that JHJ’s “solemn voice” is somewhat “strange”. Maybe because Han Do Jun’s style of speaking is different from JHJ’s normal style?
In the new SBS drama “Yongpal”, actor Jo Hyun Jae plays Han Do Jun, the ruthless half-brother of Han Yeo Jin, who harms his younger sister even unto death so he could grab her inheritance. This is a big event in the life of actor Jo Hyun Jae.
Deeply embedded in people’s minds are images of the pious priest Andrea in “Love Letter”, the intransigent in love Seo Dong in “Seo Dong Yo”, and the supremely pure-hearted Han Kang in “49 Days”. He is always protecting the woman he loves, facing and overcoming hardships and charting his own destiny. But this is just one facet to this actor. Watching the wicked and ambitious villain Han Do Jun in “Yongpal” is really very interesting simply because the actor playing this character is actor Jo Hyun Jae.
This is the first time he is acting the villain since he started acting, so he is feeling very encouraged. He said that having waited for this day, his excitement is very high every day. A pleasing appearance but revealing fierce eyes and eerie laughter flowing with malice, it is now time to face the new Jo Hyun Jae.
Question 1 (Q1): It has been 1 year and 6 months since your last drama, “King’s Daughter, Soo Baek Hyang”, ended. You look a bit thin.
Jo Hyun Jae (JHJ): I think I lost 11 kg. During my break, I decided to give myself some changes. Previously, I have been too focused solely on moving forward. But, it is also necessary to give myself a rest, so aside from engaging in sports, I have also been travelling. But for a period of 6 months, I worked out at the gym almost every day.
Editor: I wonder where he went and who accompanied him during his travels . 😀
Q2: My perception of you is different from what I am seeing, that should be the reason. You are a lot slimmer than I thought, so I was surprised.
JHJ: Recently, I made adjustments to my diet. Originally, I eat a lot. But since I started filming, I have been eating a lot less. When a person is hungry, they seem more on edge and a lot sharper, their eyes are more toxic. Thinking about my character Han Do Jun, I always have to put myself in a sensitive state.
Q3: What is for lunch today?
JHJ: Salad and a half bowl of brown rice.
Q4. The weather is so hot, and with that kind of diet, you might collapse. Don’t you feel you are pushing yourself too hard?
JHJ: I have been wanting to play villain. I haven’t played this kind of character before, so I am a bit nervous, but at the same time, I am determined to do well. After each broadcast, we monitor the reaction of the viewers. There were viewers who said that “Jo Hyun Jae’s smile is completely different from before”. I think I was able to convey the emotions the character intended, so I feel pretty good. My energy increases when I read such positive reactions. Because of that I don’t find it difficult even if we have to film overnight.
Q5: Han Do Jun deliberately puts his sister in a coma so that he could grab her position as heir. But we do not understand why he became wicked. From the standpoint of acting, isn’t it necessary to understand why so you can be convincing?
JHJ: From the beginning of the drama, Han Do Jun is presented right away to the audience as this wicked character, a typical bad guy. On the surface we see Han Do Jun’s evil side, weak and complex. Why is this man so dysfunctional? We want to understand why he became wicked. His real face will be revealed gradually as the drama progresses.

.

출처 : 레이디 경향 9월호 (2015년)

조현재의 새로운 시간
귀공자, 꽃미남, 첫사랑…. 이제까지 조현재를 수식하던 말들은 버려라. 서늘한 눈빛으로 카메라를 응시하는 그는 우리가 처음 만나는 조현재다.
긴 복도를 지나 조현재(35)가 문을 열고 들어왔다. 그에게 그림자처럼 따라붙는 선한 빛, 진중하면서도 차분한 오라 너머로 무언가 새로운 기운이 감지된다. 아는지 모르는지 정중한 목소리로 인사를 건네는 그가 왠지 낯설다.
새로 시작한 SBS-TV 수목드라마 ‘용팔이’에서 조현재는 재벌 후계자가 되기 위해 여동생을 죽음으로 내모는 무정한 오빠 한도준을 연기한다. 그리고 이는 조현재의 배우 인생에 큰 사건이다. 15년 동안 그는 주로 선한 눈빛과 맑은 미소를 가진 순수 청년의 모습이었기 때문이다. 사람들 머릿속의 그는 ‘러브레터’의 신실한 신부 안드레아였고 ‘서동요’의 로맨틱한 서동이었으며 ‘49일’의 지고지순한 순정남 한강이었다. 언제나 사랑하는 여인을 지키려 했고 고난에 맞서 자신의 운명을 개척했으며 정의의 편이었다. 그랬던 그가 삐뚤어진 야망으로 가득 찬 악한을 연기한다니, ‘용팔이’의 악인 한도준이 흥미로운 이유는 그를 연기하는 배우가 조현재이기 때문이다.
데뷔 후 처음 연기하는 악역에 그 역시 한껏 고무돼 있었다. 기다렸다고, 하루하루가 설렌다고 했다. 흉모를 담은 눈빛으로 섬뜩한 비소를 흘리는, 이제 전혀 새로운 조현재와 마주할 시간이다.
Q1: 드라마 ‘제왕의 딸, 수백향’ 이후 1년 6개월 만이다. 좀 핼쑥해 보
JHJ: 11kg 정도 체중 감량을 했다. 쉬는 동안 스스로에게 변화를 주고 싶었다. 그동안 계속 달려오기만 한 것 같더라. 휴식기가 필요하다는 생각도 들었고, 오랜만에 운동하고 여행도 다녔다. 6개월 동안은 거의 매일 헬스클럽으로 출퇴근을 했다.
Q2: 느낌이 달라졌다고 생각했는데 그 때문이었나 보다. 몸도 생각보다 슬림해서 깜짝 놀랐다.
JHJ: 요즘도 식단 조절을 하고 있다. 원래도 식사량이 많은 편은 아닌데, 이번 작품을 하며 입이 더 짧아졌다. 사람이 안 먹다 보면 날카로워지지 않나. 눈빛도 더 독해지고. 한도준이라는 인물을 생각하다 보니 자꾸 스스로를 예민한 상태로 몰아가게 된다.
Q3: 오늘 점심 식단은 뭐였나?
JHJ: 샐러드와 현미밥 반 공기 먹고 왔다.
Q4: 날도 더운데 쓰러지겠다. 힘들지 않나?
JHJ: 그동안 악역을 정말 해보고 싶었다. 이제까지 그런 인물을 표현해본 적이 없어서 긴장도 되고 잘하고 싶은 마음도 크다. 처음 연기를 시작했을 때의 기분이랄까. 방송이 나가고 모니터링을 하는데 이제까지 조현재가 보여줬던 미소와는 완전히 다르다는 댓글이 있더라. 의도한 대로 나온 것 같아 무척 기분이 좋았다. 그런 반응 하나하나가 에너지가 된다. 밤샘 촬영을 해도 전혀 힘들지 않다.
Q5: 한도준은 재벌 후계자 자리를 차지하기 위해 여동생을 혼수상태에 빠뜨리는 인물이다. 이해의 여지가 없는 악인인데, 연기하는 입장에서 설득이 필요하지 않나?
JHJ: 일단 시작부터 삐뚤어진 상태로 출발했기 때문에 시청자들이 보기엔 전형적인 나쁜 놈일 거다. 한도준이라는 인물의 겉모습, 그러니까 악한 이면에 나약함과 콤플렉스가 있을 거라고 생각했다. 이 사람이 왜 이렇게 결핍이 많아졌는지, 무엇 때문에 이렇게 삐뚤어지게 됐는지 이해하려는 중이다. 앞으로 그런 면들이 서서히 드러나게 될 거다.
.
TO BE CONTINUED
.
Credit: Photo and interview from http://lady.khan.co.kr/khlady.html?mode=view&code=5&artid=201508241539021; Chinese translation byドラミ1987 posted on JHJ/Baidu. Thanks! English translation by Prissymom.
3 thoughts on “Jo Hyun Jae in September 2015 issue of Lady 경향 magazine (Interview, Part 1)

  1. Pingback: Jo Hyun Jae in September 2015 issue of Lady 경향 magazine (Interview, Part 2) | Simply JO HYUN JAE

  2. Pingback: Jo Hyun Jae in September 2015 issue of Lady 경향 magazine (Interview, Part 3) | Simply JO HYUN JAE

  3. Pingback: Jo Hyun Jae in September 2015 issue of Lady 경향 magazine (Interview, Part 4/Final) | Simply JO HYUN JAE

Leave a Reply

