Drama (2015.08): Yongpal

Yongpal: Episode 1 thoughts and Jo Hyun Jae scenes

Hello, everyone! Were you able to watch Episode 1 of “Yongpal”? I was able to watch it live, but the streaming buffered so much that I missed a lot in the process. But based from what I have seen, the first episode just expounded on what we have already seen in the teasers released prior to airing.
Above is a video clip showing Jo Hyun Jae’s scenes in Episode 1. I do not understand what was said, but I think the old men, executives of the Hanshin Group, are seeking an audience with Han Yeo Jin (Kim Tae Hee.) Aren’t they aware that she is in a coma all this time?
The executives want to present a document to Yeo Jin, but the old men were thwarted from their intent by the presence of Han Do Jun and Dr. Lee. The old men gave their calling cards to Lee to present to Yeo Jin, and Lee disappears, presumably to go to Yeo Jin’s room. Lee returns and seems to have told them that Yeo Jin is in no condition to see them, so they hand the documents to Lee, thinking that Lee will hand over the documents to Yeo Jin. I do not know what nasty words Han Do Jun (Jo Hyun Jae) told the old men, but they folded quite easily in front of Do Jun’s taunting words and demeanor. That is just my interpretation of the scene, so please don’t quote me.
If my interpretation is correct then that means other people don’t know that Yeo Jin is in a coma? Maybe they were told that she is just too sick to personally take care of the company? Or that she is not interested in the company anymore after her fiance died in the accident? Or maybe they are aware she is in a coma, but they believe that she can hear them even in her vegetative state? Oh, well, enough with the speculations. Let us just wait for the English subs to fully understand the episode.
JHJ’s scenes lasted about 4 minutes, but he is off to a great start. He is awesome as villain. I am already itching to wipe the smirk off his face. 😀
I do not know if it is just me, but I can sense a bit of madness in his smile and in his eyes. Especially in that scene where he is laughing while bending over the comatose Yeo Jin. Do you sense it too? His smiles are so vile I am totally freaked out.
Gone is our innocent Andrea in “Love Letter”, our adorable Myeong Nong in “King’s Daughter, Soo Baek Hyang”, our unshakeable Han Kang in “49 Days”, and our intransigent Jang in “Seo Dong Yo”.
Han Do Jun is still the same handsome JHJ, but the soul behind the facade has a totally different feel. This time the soul behind the facade gives off a menacing vibe.
Update (August 12, 2015): Below is the English transcript of the scene depicted in the above video clip. Well, it seems my interpretation of the scene was correct. Do Jun made people believe that Yeo Jin is awake but refuses to face other people.
Dr. Lee (Lee): Did you come, Mr. President? (Mr. President refers to Han Do Jun, played by JHJ, Chairman of the Hanshin Group.)
Han Do Jun (Do Jun): (To Lee) Yes, Chief. How are you?
Hospital Director (to the executives): This is Chief Lee who is in charge of Yeo Jin. (Lee greets the visitors.)
Lee (to Do Jun): But, why did you not send me notice that you will be visiting? Would you like tea in my office?
Do Jun: Ah, we already drank in the Director’s office. And, today, I need to discuss something urgent with my sister.  And these people (referring to a group of old men standing behind him, these are executives of the Hanshin Group) also want to meet Yeo Jin.
Lee: Yeo Jin? Yeo Jin? Ah yes, go ahead. However, I have to ask Yeo Jin first if she wants to receive visitors.
Executive 1: What? A matter that the President, who is her direct family, has approved is being questioned by a doctor?
Do Jun: Mr. Park, don’t be so rough. These people already knew Yeo Jin from long ago.
Lee: I am sorry, Mr. President. But, as you already know, it is the patient’s decision to refuse communication with outsiders. It is also my duty, as her primary physician, to protect the patient.
Executive 2: We must check whether it is indeed the patient’s own decision.
Do Jun (laughs): What can we do? It seems even in my own hospital, my words are not effective.
Lee: I am sorry. If that is the case, I will check with Yeo Jin first and check if there is a doctor to assist you. Please give me your name cards.
Do Jun: Well, there is nothing we can do. Those are her primary doctor’s words, right?
The executives hand over their name cards to Lee. Lee leaves the hallway to go to Yeo Jin’s room.
Do Jun (to Director): How is Yeo Jin?
Director: Ah, there is no big difference, but there was a big fuss when a new nurse entered her room by mistake.
Do Jun: She tried to hurt herself again?
Director: I am sorry to tell you, but yes.
Do Jun: I don’t understand why she keeps doing that.
Director: I am sorry. It is my mistake.
Lee returns.
Lee: As expected, it was asking for too much. She refuses to meet with anyone.
Executive 2: Then, will you at least pass her these documents?
Do Jun subtly signals Lee to accept the documents.
Lee: Yes, there is no problem with her looking over the documents, so I will hand them over.
Executive 3: Ah, wait. If she is sensitive about even meeting people, these kind of tiring documents…
Do Jun: If you like I can read the documents personally to Yeo Jin.
Executive 2: No, it is fine.
Do Jun: Good. Well, since we are here, I might as well go and see her. You can leave now.
In the elevator, Executive 1 reprimands Executive 2 for suggesting to pass the documents to Yeo Jin because it was tantamount to handing over the documents to Chairman Han Do Jun. Executive 2 apologizes for his mistake. Executive 2 asks the other executives if they should file a request in the courts to cancel the visitations ban on Yeo Jin.
Executive 1: Are you nuts? Then everybody can see her! What about the stock prices?
Executive 3: More than that, it might give great discomfort to Yeo Jin.
Do Jun and Lee walks toward Yeo Jin’s room. Lee tears the name cards. They enter the high security room of Yeo Jin, who is asleep and not awake as Lee had impressed on the executives.
Do Jun: How is she?
Lee: As you can see, she is still the same.
Do Jun: You have to maintain her well. If anything goes wrong… you know, right?
Lee: Of course….
Do Jun bends closer to Yeo Jin.
Do Jun: Have you been well? I am sorry, Oppa can’t visit you often. At any rate, you still have people outside lining up to see you. (wicked laughter)
Yeo Jin (still with eyes closed): Devil.
Below are some Han Do Jun screen captures from Episode 1

Han Do Jun Teaser 3-2 Han Do Jun Teaser 3-3 Han Do Jun Teaser 3-4 Han Do Jun Teaser 3-5
.
Credit: Video by Ojik; Photo 1 from DC/JHJ; all other photos from Carpe Diem Japan. Thanks!

One thought on “Yongpal: Episode 1 thoughts and Jo Hyun Jae scenes

  1. I’ve been secretly wishing for JHJ to play a villain because I know it would show his versatility as an actor and i don’t want him to be typecast as the forever “good guy.” Got it with this drama. Thank you for sharing this info. 😊

Leave a comment