Audio Clips/Video Clips/MVs / Drama (2013.02.23): King Rouge / OSTs

“King Rouge” OST: Rouge Blooms

King Rouge 24

.
Here is the English translation of the main theme song of Jo Hyun Jae’s Chinese drama “King Rouge”. The song’s title is “Rouge Blooms”, sung by Yang Zi, JHJ’s leading lady in the drama.
The English translation was done by JHJ’s  Chinese fan who goes by the name of “Kangaroo”. She explains that the song reads like a poem from the diary of a young woman.  She further explains that the original Chinese song uses a lot of metaphors that only native Chinese speakers would be able to understand.
Lyrics in Chinese
English translation (Metaphorical translation)
(Title) 胭脂花开
Rouge Blooms or Rouge Flowers or Rouge Blossoms
(Singer) 杨紫演唱
by Yangzi
胭脂的香味
The fragrance of rouge
就像我矗立风中的美
Like my beauty standing in the wind
春夏秋冬我一路跟随
I’m following you all the way through spring, summer, autumn & winter
才知你是最珍贵
Realising how precious you are to me
*我在上一秒精彩
I was shining in the last second
你在下一秒等待
You’re waiting in the next second
故事从不需要命运来安排
Story will never be arranged by destiny
*我在上一秒精彩
I was shining in the last second
你在下一秒等待
You’re waiting in the next second
让呼吸留住发着光的未来
Let’s breathe to hold up our bright future
岁月如花蕊
Time like stamens
缠绕我思念永远不悔
Wrapped my missing without regret
月缺月圆花香不枯萎
The moon waxes and wanes (but) the fragrance (of rouge) will never fade
真爱是微笑的
(My) true love is the brow of smile (“brow” is used to match the tone.)
Below is the literal English translation of the lyrics. According to our Translator, the version below is closer to the “essence” or “spirit” of the song.  Since she is  a native Chinese speaker, she was able to incorporate the nuances of the Chinese language into the literal English translation of the lyrics.
From the synopsis of King Rouge”, we know that at the beginning of the drama Lei-er ( Thunderchild) harbors a one-sided love for Wu Kui, who is in love with another woman, Princess Moya.  The song is told from the point of view of Lei-er who has been in love with Wu Kui for quite a long time already. However, the trailers and the synopsis released by the producers hint that Wu Kui and Lei-er will end up together eventually, so the tone of the song is cheerful and determined, rather than sad and regretful.

.

Rouge Blooms (or Rouge Flowers or Rouge Blossoms)
Rouge flowers leave a lasting fragrance in the air
My beauty remains as time goes by
I have been following you all the way through in the past
And gradually realized that you are the most precious person to me.
I am missing you here, while you are missing me there
We are always like two parallel trains which only have the fate of brushing past each other
But love should not be predetermined by destiny.
I am waiting for you here, while you are waiting for me there
But I know that we will go through all the difficulties and have our brighter future
Because we cannot stop loving each other like we cannot stop breathing.
Rouge’s stamens are wrapped by petals
My heart is full, filled with my love for you
No matter how much time flies, I will never stop missing you
No matter how much time flies, our true love is the source of my happiness.

King Rouge 01

Postscript:  A short note about “Kangaroo”, our Chinese translator.  She is from China, but is studying and is currently residing in Australia.  She told me that since she is not a native English speaker/writer, she is still struggling with the language.  In my opinion, for someone who is still struggling with the language, she writes beautifully in English already.
.
Credit: Photos from New Culture Media Group via weibo.com;  English translation by Kangaroo.  Thanks!
Leave a Reply

